General Data Protection Regulation
The GPDR wasn't created with decentralized or P2P services in mind, because those don't matter much in the current Internet. However, the principles certainly apply, and a P2P system gives you way more control over your data than any centralized system. So this section explains what happens to your data when you use net2o.
First, in order to be accessible, you announce yourself to a DHT server. This announcement is done either explicit or implicit in other functions that require an announcemt.
An announcement does the following things:
- It sends a very brief information about your net2o ID to the DHT; essentially this is your nick, your pubkey, and a signature of your nick. An avatar image is optional. The index to get to your nick is your pubkey.
- It establishs a lightweight UDP connection to this DHT node that allows to route addresses through the DHT node to you. The DHT node creates a path from itself to you and keeps that as long as the connection is up.
- It announces the path from the DHT to you.
DHT nodes are redundant and distribute these information as appropriate. As long as you are connected using said lightweight UDP connection, the path is retained. The static information about you is retained for longer. DHT nodes may purge those information infrequently; usually during a restart after an update. The entire design supposes that a DHT can forget everything and will be repopulated by the users. Therefore, DHTs don't store anything permanently.
Every chat partner keeps a chat log. Chat logs remember all the chat messages except those who are set to OTR (“off the record”). OTR logs are kept in main memory, but not stored permanently. Chat logs of group chats can be synced with any group member. OTR logs can't be synced; they are only seen by people who are active at the time of their sending.
In near future, you can
/otrify your own messages; if honored by your
peers, they will disappear. Note that only active peers in a group will be
able to see an
/otrify request. This honors your right to be
All your DVCS projects create an immutable chain of commits which are signed by you and the other contributors. History revision is only possible when all signers agree to it, and everybody who holds a copy accepts the recall.
$quid payments are stored in a hypercubemesh style BlockChain. All signers committed to never create an alternative revision of this chain. This is on purpose. $quid payments happen under pseudonymous IDs which are not tied to your connection pubkey; but people can record that association and make it public. You can move all your coins to other pubkeys, which is indistinguishable from spending them.